Nobel Prize Awarded To Jimmy Carter – 10/11/2002

History |


On October 11, 2002, the former President Jimmy Carter’s several decades of genuine service to the public was finally recognized with a Nobel Peace Prize. The former president was one of the people who believed that international conflicts can be resolved peacefully. He supported the country’s economic and social development and also contributed to the advancement of democracy and human rights. 

James Earl “Jimmy” Carter was born on October 1, 1924 in Plains, Georgia. His father was a hardworking peanut farmer while his mom on the other hand was a nurse. He was elected in 1976 and served as the 39th president of the United States from 1977 to 1981. Among other things, Carter was recognized for his participation in negotiating peace talks between two conflicting countries, Israel and Egypt in 1978. He was considered as a recipient of the Nobel Prize that year together with Anwar Sadar and Menachin Begin but was disqualified due to technicality – Carter’s nomination was not able to meet the official deadline.

Even after his term, Carter proceeded to serve the public in his own personal way. In 1962, he and his wife Rosalyn founded the Atlanta-based Carter Center in the quest to promote human rights and alleviate human suffering. They also brought awareness on the impending problem on homelessness, working together with the Habitat for Humanity to build homes for the impoverished. His name is written in History with these accomplishments – fought to prevent the spread of disease, improve economic growth in developing countries, conducted peace negotiations, and served as an observer to political elections worldwide.

Alfred Nobel (1833-1896), a Swedish industrialist and inventor, established the Nobel Prize in his will. He wanted to use the fortune that he had amassed to honor people who make a great contribution to mankind. The first awards were given in 1901 in the fields of chemistry, physics, medicine, literature, and peace while the Nobel Prize in economics was granted in 1969. Carter received $1 million as his prize. Along with him, two other U.S. presidents became recipients of the said award – Theodore Roosevelt (1906) and Woodrow Wilson (1919).

Share On Facebook

Amanda Miller

Contributor & Chief Coffee Maker

Being from San Diego I have always gone to the Ocean and wrote my thoughts onto paper. Since a young girl writing has been my passion and now I love being creative with what I love. In school I started early writing for my middle school paper and have learned so much since then. I now have an opportunity to do what I love and work from home every day you can't beat it. I look forward to writing some great content for you all and to see the feedback I get in the process. My favorite topic is positive stories showing people helping others.